What Toyota Safety Sense Is and Why It's Important

By: Castlegar Toyota   |   31 May 2022

When shopping for a new Toyota vehicle, you have probably noticed a list of safety features in the vehicle’s description. Every new and used Toyota model comes with the Toyota Safety Sense driver-assist system standard on their trim levels. This highly-praised system is built with advanced driver-assist and safety technology to keep you, your passengers, and everyone else around you on the road safe as you drive. If you’ve been curious to know more about this suite of safety systems, read on!

What is Toyota Safety Sense™?

The Toyota Safety Sense system first became available in 2015 with such features as Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) and Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P). The current system is the Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5 (TSS 2.5). This suite of safety features uses a combination of cameras, radar, and lasers mounted in a vehicle’s windshield, front grille, and bumpers to monitor other vehicles, objects, and pedestrians on the road. 

In addition, Toyota Safety Sense makes use of audible and visual alerts to indicate that the driver needs to take action to avoid a collision. If the driver doesn’t respond – or is unable to answer – some systems will step in and either apply the brakes or move the vehicle to prevent a collision.

The Four Types of Toyota Safety Sense

  • The TSS-2.5 is the latest incarnation of this technology. Unveiled in the 2021 Toyota Camry and the 2021 Toyota Highlander, this new system utilizes a camera, millimetre-wave radar, and grille-mounted radar better to detect pedestrians in the path of a vehicle. Engineers added Intersection Support to assist drivers when vehicles are approaching an intersection so that they can take turns with the confidence not to hit other cars or pedestrians. At the same time, Emergency Steering Assist helps drivers stabilize steering maneuvers to keep their vehicles in their lanes and out of oncoming traffic. The TSS-2.5 will be available on more Toyota vehicles as newer model years become available.

  • The TSS-2.0 is an advanced suite of safety features. These features help prevent or mitigate collisions and keep drivers within their lane. Solutions include Pre-Collision System, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beams, Road Sign Assist, and Lane Tracing assist. Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 is designed for Toyota models from 2018 to the current model year.

  • The TSS-P, available on mid-size and large Toyota vehicles like the RAV4 and the Sienna, is another driver-assist system that uses a camera and a millimetre-wave radar to search for other smaller cars, motorcycles and bikes, and pedestrians. If Toyota Safety Sense™ P detects the potential for a collision, it will alert the driver or take evasive action at up to 110 miles per hour. Pedestrian detection, Steering Assist, and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) are also features of Toyota Safety Sense™ P.

  • Lastly, the TSS-C debuted with the new Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) for the Toyota Corolla and other models. TSS-C includes a camera and laser radar to monitor other vehicles on the road. It offers driving alerts and can take evasive action if the car travels over 7 mph. TSS-C features include Pre-Collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA), and Automatic High Beams (AHB).

Put Safety First With Castlegar Toyota

Toyota’s reputation for being one of the safest vehicles in the market is mainly due to its technological advancements in driver and car protection. With its patented Safety Sense™ on all its modern vehicles, Toyota owners can rest easy knowing that their car prioritizes road safety as much as they do.

Get safe Toyota cars from Castlegar Toyota, BC, today! We’re a progressive and wholly authorized dealer of full-service Toyota vehicles and a genuine Toyota parts retailer. Check out our online listings or stop by our lot anytime to learn more about Toyota Safety Sense!


Browse New Inventory


Contact Us

Sales: (250) 365-7241Service: 1 (877) 790-3796